top of page

Ohhh oh We're Half Way There!

Today is Day 14 of 28 Days of Self Love! That means we are half way there. I wanted to check in and see how you were doing with the first 14 days.

In all honesty, I haven't been doing that well. I have not been giving myself very much self-compassion nor have I been following all of my own advice or suggestions in the last 14 days.

I wanted to recap the last 14 days and give you some insight into how they have gone for me.


Day 1 - Set the Tone with Self Compassion

This is one I am not very good at at all. I have lots of negative self talk that happens inside my head. When someone says they are glad they are not inside my head they really should be. I often think about the process of how I get to certain thoughts in my head and am amazed at the round about way I got there! The fact that I do pay attention to this though is at least, in my mind (ha ha), a step in the right direction. I am recognizing patterns of thoughts.


Day 2 - Meditation

I will admit that I have done very little meditation in the last 14 days. It is one of those things that gets put off to the side when I have other things going on. I know that this is counter productive because if I meditated those other things wouldn't seem like such obstacles that need to be taken care of right away. Honestly, I miss my meditation when I don't do it. It's just a matter of making sure I put myself (care) first sometimes, even for just 10 minutes a day.


Day 3. - Go to Bed Early

This one I am actually pretty good at. Mostly because I don't sleep well so going to bed early helps to ensure that I do get some sleep.

Day 4 - Journal

This one goes along with the meditation. I know I feel so much better when I do journal but it's finding the time for myself to actually sit down and journal.


Day 5 - Buy Yourself Flowers

Fortunately for me I did not have to do this one as someone else bought me a beautiful bouquet of flowers but prior to this I had been buying tulips every time I ordered my groceries.


Day 6 - Happy Letter

I am going to work on my happy letter today! Better late than never :)


Day 7 - Spend Time in Nature

I had been hoping that it would have been a little warmer than it has been this May so far. I am not a cold weather person, even though I live in Canada. I like the warm, sunny, humid weather. Having said that I have been trying to spend time outside just sitting in the sun, reading a book or even working or having a glass of wine while dinner is cooking on the BBQ.

Day 8 - Take a Bath

Again, this one is pretty easy for me as I love my bath! It is one of the things we put into our house when we built it that I am very grateful for. If I had my choice I would take a bath every night. I do try to take a bath at least once a week just to wind down and have some alone time.




Day 9 - Get Up With the Sunrise

This is definitely not my thing! I am not an early morning person by any stretch of the imagination. Having said that when I do get up early when no one else is awake, I enjoy the quiet of the morning with the birds and sunshine. Another part of the problem is that it seems as soon as I get up, if I'm getting up early, the rest of the house gets up and there is no quiet LOL!


Day 10 - Read a Book

I have loved the fact that over the last year I have gotten back to reading. It is my time to just be inside another story. I love to read and have a very long list of books I would like to read but am always open to more suggestions.


Day 11 - Smile

Although this one seemed easy when I originally put it on the list it was more difficult than I thought. When you don't leave the house there is no one else to smile at except those that live with you and yourself and quite honestly there are days when I don't feel like smiling at those in my house or myself. With that said this is definitely one I will work on.


Day 12 - Get 8 Hours of Sleep

As I mentioned before I have a hard time sleeping. I often take more than an hour to fall asleep and then I only sleep lightly. For example, I usually get less than 10 minutes of deep sleep a night.


Day 13 - Eat Good Food

I have been doing an okay job of this this week. But this is always a work in progress. As one of my friends recently mentioned, until you are ready to make a change, you won't. And so, until I am ready to make a complete change we'll take it day to day.


Day 14 - Drink Your Water

This is one that I have struggled with for a few years. I used to drink lots of water every day and I know all the benefits and how it does make you feel better but there are days I just can't bring myself to drink my water. So until I'm ready to make a change...


I believe my puzzle needs a little work to get it together. How have your past 14 days been?








6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page